Christian Louboutin    Reviews

TalkShoes Testimonials: Christian Louboutin Pigalle 120mm Pumps

When I think of Christian Louboutin‘s sexy aesthetic, the iconic Pigalle pump comes immediately to mind. This pump is arguably the brand’s most recognizable design, and Fall 2014 marked the Pigalle’s ten year anniversary. For a shoe to enjoy a decade of popularity in the wild world of footwear is no small feat. Trends come and go, but the Pigalle is a pump that’s going to be around for a very long time.

A shoe as iconic as the Pigalle is definitely worth putting to the test, and it’s the subject of this edition of TalkShoes Testimonials.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_1

Aesthetics
5 Stars

The five-star rating says it all. These pumps are beautiful, and they are, without a doubt, a modern-day classic. A nude, pointd-toe, patent leather pump is a guaranteed staple that you will want to wear now and for years to come.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_2

Comfort & Functionality
2 Stars

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_10

One word instantly comes to mind when I think about what it’s like to walk in a pair of Pigalles: intense. These pumps are 120mm high, but I already own a pair of 120mm So Kate pumps, so I had an idea of what I was getting myself into. The height wasn’t an issue as much as slipping my foot into this shoe. Pigalles are known for their very short toe box, but it was even more extreme than I expected. The show is very narrow, and I had to wiggle my toes quite a few times in order to get comfortable.

Another common concern when buying a pair of Pigalles is figuring out what size to purchase. I find that the Pigalles run a pinch small. I own several Louboutin pumps and I’m always a size 35. In the Pigalles, however, I opted for a 35.5 simply because of the toe box. I have very slender feet, and while I know Louboutin pumps stretch over time, getting my toes into the 35 wasn’t happening. The half a size up gave me a pinch of relief.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_6

Quality & Construction
2.5 Stars

The silhouette of this pump is very unique because of the low sides and short toe box. Since I have slender feet, the low sides didn’t bother me so much; someone with a wider foot might experience more discomfort, though. In certain movements, I felt the sides of my foot hanging over just a pinch, but it wasn’t enough to really bother me or cause me to stumble when walking.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_4

My biggest and only complaint with Pigalle pump is the very short toe box. It took me some maneuvering to get comfortable in these shoes, even before I stood up. My toes were very close together, and I couldn’t spread them apart even if I tried. As I started wearing them, my toes endured the pain and the toe box stretched out just a bit. Overall, my feet still ached after wearing them for a couple of hours.

Value
4 Stars

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_8

Right now, the Pigalles retail for $675, which is the entry pricepoint when buying a pair of Louboutin pumps. The style and price of the Pigalle make this pump a good place to start for someone looking to beef up their shoe collection, and they’re a great first Louboutin. The brand does make periodic price increases, so if you’re considering buying a pair, keep that in mind.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_3

Staying Power
5 Stars

The Pigalle recently celebrated its ten year anniversary, and I have no doubt that this pump will be around for another ten, twenty or fifty years. Crazy trends come and go, but there’s nothing trendy or fleeting going on here.

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_7

Total Score
3.5 Stars

Louboutin Pigalle TS Testimonial_5

You all may think I’m crazy, but I think the Pigalle is one of the most difficult shoes in the Louboutin family to walk in. I’ve tried everything from Daffodile pumps to So Kates, and none of Louboutin’s other popular styles have given me as much trouble as the Pigalle. Don’t get me wrong; they’re beautiful both on and off the foot, but they are a bit painful. These pumps may pinch my toes and be a pinch too high, but I would never truly regret wearing a pair of classic pumps like this.

Buy through Christian Louboutin for $675.

Don’t forget to read more about your favorite shoe brands over on TalkShoes.

guest

21 Comments
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
missarewa
missarewa
9 years ago

my feet hurt just from looking at these. to each their own… u wear them well

laura
laura
9 years ago

They look too big. Maybe buying 1/2 a size bigger made it easier for you to put them on but they definitely look big on you. I would have just bought a different style. Just my opinion.

PJGambler
PJGambler
9 years ago

Having pretty feet is more important than wearing certain shoes. When your toes tell you they hurt, are scrunched together, listen to them-bunions are ugly and misshapen feet come from wearing ill fitting shoes.

Yazi
Yazi
9 years ago

Every person I have seen wearing this shoe had pain in their leg muscles afterwards, plus the tendons/blood vessels in their feet looked stretched to the limit. Neither the price of the shoe or the extreme discomfort justifies its purchase. It’s merely the illusion of glamour and super femininity that women are buying. A clever marketing strategy.

A woman is able to look beautiful without breaking any bones. Of course, this is just my opinion and perhaps the shoe’s popularity has already proved me wrong.

terri
terri
7 years ago
Reply to  Yazi

you wouldn’t say that if you saw how beautiful they are on your feet. You must 1. be cheap and would never buy them or 2. be a man

mai
mai
9 years ago

I have two pairs of pigalles, but they are the 100mm version. I actually find them relatively comfortable for a pointy toe pump! I can easily wear them to work and be in them for a whole day. And I have wide feet! I also bought my normal size (same that I have for all designer shoes) and it worked well for me. Maybe it’s the 120mm – i find that heel height to be a bit much to be honest. That’s why I haven’t forayed into so kates. I just can’t get into them, even though they are all the rage. To me, I would feel like I am trying too hard, and that’s never a good feeling :).

Maria
Maria
9 years ago

I have 100mm Pigalles as well, and I could jog and jump up and down in them. I wear them for work all day and they are very comfortable. Pigalle 120s and So Kates would sit in my closet for the most part because of the comfort factor.

Graceful Shopper
Graceful Shopper
9 years ago

They look stunning on you. I agree with the others on the height…ouch! And perhaps a tad too big lengthwise.

anon
anon
9 years ago

Ooooh! Nice review! How has been the wear of the red bottom part of the shoe? I see a lot of reviews where the red part has significantly been ruined.

Katherine Callaghan
Katherine Callaghan
9 years ago
Reply to  anon

I agree, unfortunately as soon as you start wearing these shoes the red bottom will chip away. I’ve been told from a reputable leather spa here in NYC that it is best to wear your shoes 1-5 times. After these initial wears, it is then best to get them resoled and the reason is because the sole needs to wear away a bit first before they can put a leather or rubber sole on the bottom.

anon
anon
9 years ago

Thanks for letting me know! I guess you just can’t avoid the natural wear and tear of shoes. Louboutins are very much a special occassion/feel shoe:) Oh, how I wish permanent red paint on the bottoms could existX)

Katherine Callaghan
Katherine Callaghan
9 years ago
Reply to  anon

You and me both!

Ana
Ana
9 years ago
Reply to  anon

Find a reputable cobbler in your neighborhood (or send them to one of the popular ones in major cities, if you prefer) and have them add rubber soles. Then you’ll have red bottoms AND comfier heels. 🙂

anon
anon
9 years ago
Reply to  Ana

Interesting! I definitely like the sound of that. Thanks!:)

C
C
9 years ago
Reply to  anon

The best is if you can find cobblers that stock red rubber soles (just for these babies!). There’s one right where I work that was smart enough to do that, to cater to all these working women in the business district who were worried about their shoes!

Mya Wilkes
Mya Wilkes
9 years ago
Reply to  anon

I don’t think you can get around that one. The red on the bulb of your feet will definitely wear off after some time but i like the fact that the red on the pitch of the shoes is still visible and can never wear because of its location.

anon
anon
9 years ago
Reply to  Mya Wilkes

True true. I guess there’s no way around the natural wear and tear of a shoe. And all you really need is the sole behind the arch to show anyways.

Ariss
Ariss
9 years ago

Without the red soles and the name on the entry, this pair of shoes look like any other brand. Aldo does affordable versions of this. I don’t understand the hype. *shrugs*

Mya Wilkes
Mya Wilkes
9 years ago

Love your hair and the whole outfit! As for the Pigalles, i couldn’t dare with the 120’s, EVER! I got the Corneille in 100mm, those are doable.

Anna
Anna
9 years ago

I have the Pigalle 85 in black patent and OMG – they’re my most comfortable pair of shoes. I never thought I’d say that I can prance, dance, and walk in a pair of Louboutins for hours. Best money I ever dropped on shoes. Don’t think I could do a 120mm though.

Aveitos Shoes
Aveitos Shoes
7 years ago

Very Classy and elegant mens leather shoes.but i think is not comfortable.